Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

Roundup: Braceville elects Zilm’s choice for his replacement

James R. Homa says that, before long-time Mayor Junior Zilm passed away, Zilm had asked him to consider running as his replacement.

Braceville residents on Tuesday indicated at the polls they agreed with Zilm’s choice.

Homa garnered 155 votes in defeating John W. Harvey Jr. to win the mayor’s race. Harvey, who noted before the election several residents had asked him to run, received 86 votes.

The mayor-elect indicated in advance of Tuesday’s vote that he would make the village’s water quality his number one priority if elected.

“The residents are very concerned about it,” Homa told the Morris Daily Herald for an election preview story in late March.

Homa said he has researched solutions to the problem and has found some options that will be less-expensive a burden to taxpayers. Towns can apply for loans at a minimal cost, he said, to work on the water mains. They need replacing, he said.

Working with Homa to address this issue over the next four years will be the four trustees elected Tuesday evening — Donald L. Schuck Jr. (175 votes), Kylie Gallup (160), and Richard Gjerde (150), and Kenneth R. Seplak (130). John W. Harvey Sr. fell short in his bid to become a commissioner, garnering 90 votes.

In other contested in the area Tuesday, voters elected commissioners, trustees and board members to a wide variety of offices.

Carbon Hill

In voting for three available Carbon Hill trustee posts, Lee W. Collier, James Crawford and Mary Jo Shain were successful in their bids for office. Shain led the voting with 40 votes, while Collier and Crawford each collected 30.

Failing to garner enough votes to attain board seats were Frank Labuda, with 26 votes, and Charles Besenhoffer, 23 votes.


Michael C. Breisch fell short in his bid to win a trustee’s seat in Mazon, finishing fourth among the hopefuls for the three available seats with 62 votes.

The top vote-getter in the race was David W. Matteson, with 91 votes, followed by James L. Matteson, 78 votes, and James A. Hintze, 77 votes.

Channahon Park District

Tom Lesniak outdistanced the three other candidates on the ballot for Channahon Park District Commissioner on Tuesday, earning the right to serve in that capacity.

Lesniak collected 1,208 votes, topping Lawrence Troutman, who finished second with 580 votes despite dropping his active pursuit of the position after finding out it would create a conflict of interest with his position as Channahon Township supervisor. Tom Powell finished third, with 250 votes, and Robert M. Arnold received 228 votes.

Seneca Public Library District

There were four trustee positions available to the five candidates running in the Seneca Public Library District on Tuesday. Lynn Hobbs, with 593 votes, was the top vote-getter, trailed by George Oswald (584 votes), Karin Rinaldi (548 votes), and Russell C. Tendall (536).

Dawn Greco garnered 218 votes, but failed to receive enough voter support to earn as seat.

Gardner Grade Dist. 72C

Kurt Kociss was the leading vote-getter among the four successful candidates bidding for seats on the Gardner Grade School District Board.

Kociss received 480 votes to lead the way. He was followed by Joseph Spiezio, with 401 votes; Kimberly Marks, with 378; and Elli Monferdini-Wilk, with 330. Garnering 284 votes, Jennifer F.L. Campbell was unsuccessful in her election bid.

Saratoga District 60C

Kathleen Cheshareck, Scott Thorson and Scott W. Heren will be the three Saratoga Dist. 60C candidates seated when the new school board is sworn in. Marcella Eliakis was the fourth candidate in the race.

Voters named Cheshareck on their ballots 520 times on Tuesday. Thorson garnered 499 votes to claim second-place over Heren, with 381 votes. Eliakis received 321 votes.

Minooka Dist. 201

Minooka Community High School senior Kevin Hannon will not be leaving school when he graduates later this spring. Instead, he will be going back to grade school.

With 714 votes on Tuesday, Hannon finished third among six candidates for the Minooka Dist. 201 Board, good enough to make him one of the three to be seated when the new board convenes. He trailed Alan Skwarczynski, who collected 877 votes, and Kathe Brozman, with 851 votes.

Falling short in their bids for the board were David C. Hill, with 693 votes; Timothy Guy Bartoli, 495 votes; and Joe Frieders, 490 votes.

Gardner-South Wilmington Dist. 73

Seven candidates were seeking four three seats on the Gardner-South Wilmington High School Board on Tuesday. When all the votes had been counted Tuesday night, the three successful candidates were the clear-cut winners.

Those victors include Mattherw J. Finn, Pamela Brooks and Joseph R. Elens, who received 570, 512 and 472 votes, respectively. Their closest competitor for the three seats was James K. Riley, who garnered 394 votes. Rounding out the field were Kathi Hernandez (315 votes), Kurt Fosnaugh (223 votes), and Edward R. Fellows (208 votes).

Minooka High School Dist. 111

Minooka High School had five candidates running for three seats, but because of a mandate requiring that at least one new board member come from the unincorporated area of the district, only two of those five candidates came away from Tuesday night victorious. The third seat will have to be filled via appointment.

Earning their seats on Tuesday were Karen M. R. Buchanan and Mark W. French, who received 2,370 and 1,856 votes, respectively. The third-highest vote getter — but not the third candidate elected to the board — was Douglas Kaufman, with 1,770 votes.

The other candidates, Ken Norris and Jim Ferencak, received 1,565 votes and 1,126 votes, repectively.

Seneca High School Dist. 160

The big question in the Seneca High School District in recent weeks has been whether the school should move ahead with constructing a proposed fieldhouse.

While that question may have been in the back of minds of voters on Tuesday, the only question to be decided in the consolidated election was who would be on the board when the final decison on the fieldhouse is made.

The answer to that question is Rich Hamilton, Sara Ellis Olson and Ronald E. Frye. They were the top three vote-getters in Tuesday’s election, eclipsing Jim Hovious and George F. Lamboley Jr.

Vote totals were 694 for Frye, 680 for Olson, 528 for Hamilton, 436 for Hovious, and 392 for Lamboley.

Joliet Junior College

While vote totals were incomplete Tuesday evening, it appears as if Jeff May and Mike O’Connell will be serving on the Joliet Junior College Board in the coming years.

O’Connell and May were the top vote-getters in Will and Grundy counties, where they enjoyed margins that are usually enough to lift them to victory in the widely spread-out junior college district.

In Grundy County, May led the way with 2,081 votes to O’Connell’s 1,989 votes. Jeffrey Vickery received 1,558 votes here, while Brad M. Baber received 1,492.

In Will County, where the majority of the district’s votes are cast, O’Connell received 25,240 votes to May’s 20,082. Baber had 17,599 and Vickery 14,377.

Loading more