Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

ICS students garner top honors in speech contest

Forty Immaculate Conception School students in fifth through eighth grades recently participated in the Illinois Elementary School Association Speech Contest hosted by Channahon Junior High School.

Students presented their selections before a judge and an audience.

Following the presentations, judges gave the students ratings for their performances.

Entries receiving a first place rating for performance of a regular duet were: Erin Blaskey and Megan Ortinau, Stephanie Kruse and Sydney Thuente, Ryan Friend and Sarah Virgo, Hattie Monson and Macy Rodgers, Abbie Borgstrom and Meg Gile, Mike Bates and Maria Peterson, Paige Brummel and Kate Witthuhn, Kameron Dransfeldt and McKenzie Rodgers, Veronica Johnson and Megan Davy, and Grant Hatteberg and Tony Whitmarsh.

Those awarded second-place ratings for regular duets were:  Mattie Meyer and Amanda Pelnarsh, and Jillian Munsell and Lena Wickens.

Small groups receiving first-place ratings were: Albert Castelluccio, Eli Davy, and Matt Kindelspire; Isabelle Hess, Ellarae Odom, and Jenna Tessone; Danny Borgstrom, Jack Galloway, Blake Niewinski, Charlie Odom, and Trevor Zink; and Zach Bell, Alec Ferrari, and Isaac Knupp).

Improv duets judged as first were:   Ryan Friend and Veronica Johnson, Clare Collard and Katie Hemmersbach, Grant Hatteberg and Tony Whitmarsh, Abbie Borgstrom and Maria Peterson, Mattie Meyer and McKenzie Rodgers, and Megan Davy and Sarah Virgo.

Improvs judged as second-place were: Jillian Munsell and Lena Wickens,  Charlie Odom and Trevor Zink, Meg Gile and Isaac Knupp, Erin Blaskey and Megan Ortinau, Danny Borgstrom and Blake Niewinski, and Sarah Neuhalfen and Aurora Whitmarsh.

Each judge had the option of choosing one or two selections from all the entries they judged for a Judge’s Choice Award. Judge’s Choice winners were awarded special certificates.

Duets done by Tony Whitmarsh and Grant Hatteberg, Veronica Johnson and Megan Davy, and Stephanie Kruse and Sydney Thuente were given Judge’s Choice Awards. Veronica John-son and Megan Davy wrote their own script.

The small group of Isabelle Hess, Ellarae Odom, and Jenna Tessone also received a Judge’s Choice Award.

All those participating in speech receive either a medal or a ribbon.

I.C.S. teacher Mrs. Rhonda Johnson coordinated the participation of I.C.S. students in the speech contest.  Coaches in addition to Mrs. Johnson included other I.C.S. teachers and I.C.S. parents.

An assembly to honor I.C.S. speech contestants was held on Monday, Nov. 19, in the Dr. Connor Gym.


Loading more