Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

D.A.R.E. graduation held at White Oak Elementary

On Nov. 15, White Oak Elementary School Principal Chris Maier welcomed many parents and guests to the fifth-grade D.A.R.E. graduation ceremony.

He thanked them for their attendance and support of both the graduates and the Morris Police D.A.R.E. Program.

The students participated in the 10-week program, which focuses on teaching them life skills that will help them make positive decisions as they grow up. The program further stresses how being drug-free helps build a foundation for the rest of their lives.

The Honorable Judge Robert Marsaglia, circuit judge for the 13th Judicial Circuit, was the featured speaker. Judge Marsaglia explained the importance of making good decisions.

He told the graduates if they use the skills and strategies they learned in the D.A.R.E. lessons, they will be very productive citizens.  He stressed that, as they grow older, they are going to have many more important choices to make throughout their lives.

As part of the 10-week D.A.R.E. program, each student was required to write an essay on what they learned in D.A.R.E. and why they think it is important to be drug- and violence-free. A representative from each class was recognized and each read his or her essay as part of the graduation ceremony.

Class representatives received a D.A.R.E. sports ball and a D.A.R.E. Essay Winner Medallion. The class representatives were:
Ms. Castanier’s class – Sophia Shaw
Mrs. DesLauriers’s class – Dylan Tash
Mrs. Farber’s class – Olivia Jenkins
Mrs. Farmer’s class – Meganne Johnson
Ms. Leavitt’s class – Andrew Hipes

Each D.A.R.E. graduate received a D.A.R.E. T-shirt, a D.A.R.E. pin, and a certificate recognizing their achievement.

Patrol Officers’ Doris Noll, Scott Ator, and Jessica Smith were the instructors for the program.

The D.A.R.E graduates were:

From Ms. Castanier’s class:
Kearstin Arends
Peter Cook
Kevin Countryman
Samantha Curry
Nico Dominy
Abbi Fritchtnitch
Lily Goode
Courtney Hicks
Gabe Huffman
Owen Jungles
Avery Kneller
Justin Mann
Baylee Newman
Colton Obrochta
Shyanne Payton
Logan Pierce
Jeanette Ringer
Elizabeth Rivera
Logan Roos
Sophia Shaw
Alexis Smith
Shawnee Timm
Ashlyn Williams
Abigail Yepez
Gustavo Zavala

From Mrs. DesLauriers’ class:
Lupe Aguilera
Haley Aukland
Dillion Conroy
Nathan Diaz
Ben Doss
Carlie Evans
Angel Heck
Michael Hernandez
Sammie Hill
Amelia Hiney
Hailey Jamison
Logan Joseph
Saira Juarez
Mandy Knapp
Madison Koster
Charlie Lewis
Mariah McPherson
Landon Moore
Jose Rico
Mandie Sanches
Eyin Stanford
Nolan Swartz
Dylan Tash
Arielle Taylor
Alyssa Zebell

From Mrs. Farber’s class:
Donielle Anderson
Jennifer Arteaga
Clare Bates
Morgan Campbell
Erik Echeverria
Jesse Gill
Keegan Glenn
Olivia Jenkins
Skyler Jordan
Frank Kellam
Jared Kleinfeldt
Carter Lewis
Evan Lindemuth
 Bryce Mahnke
Niki Matuszewski
Tera McCormick
Andrew Meloun
Sophie Mennenga
Naya Miller
Jocelyn Olvera
Emma Peterson
Joseph Pursell
Kaylee Roather
Brandon Weitzel
Steffan Wengstrom
Esperanza Xique

From Mrs. Farmer’s class:
Chloe Albert
Robert Baggett
Payton Barringer
Evan Briones
Tristan Clower
Scott Dale
Clayton Foster
Hannah Hitchcock
Meganne Johnson
Alayna Kjellesvik
Kaden Linn
Nathan Lobb
Abigail Marsmaker
Savannah Melby
Marina Mercado
Austin Montanus
Hope Nehmelman
Brooke Oesterle
Evan Olson
Izak Provance
Gavin Ross
Genesis Sandoval
Blain Small
Drew Tambling
Haley Thompson

From Ms. Leavitt’s class:
Elian Aguilera
Robert Bates
Zachary Callahan
Mary Chellino
Anna Diaz
Liam Enger
Brianna Gorges
Rori Griffin
Abbygail Harvey
Andrew Hipes
Darrion Hopper
Anja Huettemann
Coby Kingsbury
Michael Knight
 Leah Kukman
Israel Lopez
Cade Menozi
Taelor Mutz
Avery Newsom
David Nondorf
Keihn Olsen
Howard Olson
Brandon Phelps
Simone Robinson-Stevens
Austin Shell
Isabella Simon
Alexia Wilhoite

Loading more