Mostly Cloudy
44°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Speech team opens season with victory

Redskins collect six individual first-place medals

Published: Thursday, Dec. 20, 2012 7:00 a.m. CDT
(Photo courtesy of Morris Community High School)
Morris Community High School’s Jacob O’Marrah, Kade Bashor, Sophie Gaska, Kayla Haupt and Kirsten Bridgemen earned first-place medals at the team’s home invitational tournament.

The Morris Community High School Redskin Speech Team kicked off its 2012-13 season Saturday, Dec. 1 with a first-place team win at their home invitational tournament.

The Redskins took first place with 429 points. Second place went to Bradley-Bourbonnais with 348 points. Plainfield Central and Yorkville tied for third place with 276 points, and Coal City was in fifth place with 274 points. Nineteen total teams attended the tournament.

Taking first place in their individual events were Kirsten Bridgemen and Kayla Haupt in Dramatic Duet Acting; Kirsten Bridgemen in Dramatic Interpretation; Kade Bashor in Extemporaneous Speaking; Jacob O’Marrah in Informative Speaking; Robbi Hicks in Original Oratory; and Sophie Gaska in Oratorical Declamation.

Second-place finishes went to Josh Hosek and Jacob O’Marrah in Humorous Duet Acting; Gracie Jewett in Original Oratory; Alyssa Rogers in Radio Speaking; Sylvia Salinas in Special Occasion Speaking; and Yese Guzman in Poetry Reading.

Third-place finishers were Kayla Haupt in Dramatic Interpretation; Rhett Higgins in Original Comedy; Alyssa Rogers in Poetry Reading; and Luke Terhall in Special Occasion Speaking.

Fourth-place finishers were Sylvia Salinas and Nancy Serrano in Humorous Duet Acting, Mary Wolverton in Humorous Interpretation and Original Comedy; and Kade Bashor in Impromptu Speaking.

Finishing in fifth place were Luke Terhall in Extemporaneous Speaking; Jerry Peterson in Humorous Interpretation; Sam Obrochta in Impromptu Speaking; Austin Allbert in Original Comedy; and Jessica Carey in Prose Reading.

Sixth-place finishers were Rhett Higgins and Adam Roseland in Humorous Duet Acting; Jessie Eastman in Oratorical Declamation; and Madison Rodgers in Prose Reading.

Top novice honors went to Maren Bashor in Informative Speaking and Adam Skelton in Poetry Reading. Andrea Gustafson coaches the MCHS Redskin Speech Team. Her assistant coaches are Curt Forbes and Denise Gaska.

Team captains are Kade Bashor, Jacob O’Marrah, and Madison Rodgers. Junior captains are Carol Marie Gaska and Alyssa Rogers.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.

More News