Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

Board races are coming into view

Nine vying for seats at MCHS; six at Dist. 54

Numerous candidates have turned in petitions to seek seats on Morris school boards during the April 9, 2013 election.

Petitions for the school board elections became available in September and had to be returned by Dec. 26. The original due date was Dec. 24, but legislation was passed to extend the deadline to Dec. 26 due to the Christmas holiday.

Morris Community High School District 101 has five seats up for election, four are for four-year terms and one is for a two-year term. The district received nine petitions.

Candidates who returned petitions for the high school board are: Thomas Anderson, Dennis Best, incumbent; Stewart Hipes; John Maddox, incumbent; Karen Meucci, incumbent; Delores Robinson; Steve Stangland; Jim Paulson, incumbent; and Demetra Turman.

Turman is currently president of the Nettle Creek School District 24C board.

Best is currently board president and Paulson is vice president of the high school board. Meucci was appointed this past summer to fill the remainder of Damon Sloan's term. Sloan resigned in May. Stangland, a former board member from 1993 to 2001, was one of the candidates interviewed to fill in for Sloan.

Board member Dr. James Allen's seat is also up for election, as he did not pull a petition to run again.

Morris Elementary School District 54 received six petitions for its three available seats. All three of the open positions are for four-year terms.

Petitions were returned by Bonnie Capp, Gerry White, Patrick Stevens, incumbent James Ringer, Lisa Kneller and Steven Kodat.

Ringer is the board's current vice president. Louis Klusak and Heidi Pfaff's board seats are up for re-election, but Pfaff never pulled a petition and Klusak did not return a pulled petition.

Nettle Creek School District 24C has four seats available, all four-year terms. Incumbents Ted Ergo and Tim Kamradt both returned petitions to run for their positions again. New candidates Jodi Nelson, Michele Carlson and Mark Padovano also returned petitions.

Current members Ergo, Kamradt, Bill Handel and Demetra Turman are all up for re-election, but only Ergo and Kamradt are running again.

Calls to Saratoga School District 60C for their board candidates were not returned before press time.

Loading more