A Few Clouds
40°FA Few CloudsFull Forecast

Open seats attract some first-time filers in Channahon

Five running for three village trustee spots; same number want to be on school board

Published: Tuesday, Jan. 8, 2013 10:02 a.m. CST

CHANNAHON — Two current trustees and three new candidates have filed for trustee positions on the Channahon Village Board.

There will be three seats to fill during the April 9 consolidated election – those of current Trustees Sam Greco, Judie Nash, and Jerald “Jerry” Papesh. Nash is not running for re-election.

Greco and Papesh both turned in petitions for re-election, and three would-be newcomers to the village board elections have also filed. Channahon developer Mark Scaggs, current Channahon Village Clerk Janet “Missey” Schumacher and Channahon Township Supervisor and former Will County Board member Lawrence “Larry” Troutman will also be on the ballot.

Trustee positions are held for four years. Should Schumacher win a trustee seat, Village President Joe Cook would fill the clerk position with a temporary appointment.

According to Assistant Deputy Village Clerk Leti Anselme, a lottery was held on Dec. 27, 2012, for ballot placement, as four of the candidates presented their packets the first morning of filings.

There will be four seats open on the Channahon District 17 school board this spring – including those of current board members Pat Clower, Derek Breen, and Joan Ferguson. Clower, Breen, and Ferguson filed for re-election.

Also filing were Frank Smith and Joseph Pope. The school board positions are four-year seats.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.