Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

Minooka High School students receive GAVC ‘Director Awards’

MINOOKA – Several Minooka Community High School students taking classes at the Grundy Area Vocational Center were presented with Director Awards for their outstanding performances in class during the first half of the 2012-13 school year.

Director Award winners for September included: Zachary Sinadinos (Automotive Technology), Ethan Cane (Building Trades), Rachel Lamber (Cosmetology), Maverick Nave (Early Childhood Education) and Alyssa Young (Health Occupations).

Director Award winners for October included: Jeremy Tondini (Building Trades), George Howard (Computer Applications), Nathan Allen (Cosmetology) and Sarah Lindmark (Criminal Justice).

Director Award winners for November included: Eric Pashnick (Automotive Technology), Zachary Trost (Building Trades), Jordan Talley (Computer Maintenance Technology), Elizabeth Guldenbecker (Cosmetology), Miguel Ocon (Criminal Justice), Stephanie Smolkovich (Health Occupations) and Haley Nichols (Welding).

Director Awards winners for December included: Alexis Klein (Automotive Technology), Elizabeth Schrishuhn (Cosmetology), Andrew Pry (Criminal Justice) and Jose Perez (Welding).

GAVC Director Award winners are presented with a prize package and have their names and photographs displayed at GAVC for the duration of the school year.

GAVC strives to promote academic excellence and life-long learning among its students by addressing six quality areas of learning:

• Integration of core academic skills

• Classroom instruction

• Hands-on laboratory instruction

• Work-based learning

• Personal & leadership development

• Relationships with partners (business, industry, community, and post-secondary)

Loading more