Light Rain Fog/Mist
43°FLight Rain Fog/MistFull Forecast

‘Where Fresh Is’

Cloonen promotes campaign to support Illinois produce

Published: Saturday, Feb. 2, 2013 5:00 a.m. CDT

KANKAKEE, Ill. – To support Illinois’ farmers and business owners, state Representative Katherine “Kate” Cloonen (D-Kankakee) is reaching out to grocery stores across the 79th district to inform them of the new “Where Fresh Is” program being administered by the Department of Agriculture.

The program is designed to promote produce grown in Illinois.

“As a former farmer, I have a strong appreciation for Illinois’ agriculture community and am thrilled to help promote this new program,” Cloonen said.

“I have personally reached out to grocery stores in our community to inform them of this program and its benefits. By highlighting produce grown right here in Illinois, we can help our agriculture industry thrive while creating new jobs across Illinois.”

The Department of Agriculture, working with the Illinois Specialty Growers Association, has developed the new Illinois “Where Fresh Is” logo and branding campaign. This will be used to help residents identify and buy Illinois-grown produce at grocery stores throughout Illinois.

Grocery stores across Illinois can apply to be one of 200 new stores that will receive point-of-sale material to be used to promote the program free of charge.

Interested grocery stores must submit the application to the Illinois Department of Agriculture by Feb. 15, 2013. The selected grocery stores will receive their materials by March 15, 2013.

“A robust local food industry holds great promise for rural and urban communities alike,” Agriculture Director Bob Flider said.

“If Illinois could increase the amount of money spent on locally-grown food to just 10 percent of its total grocery bill, thousands of jobs and more than 20 billion dollars a year in economic activity would be generated.”

The 79th District includes all or portions of Aroma Park, Beecher, Bonfield, Bourbonnais, Braceville, Bradley, Buckingham, Cabery, Chebanse, Coal City, Diamond, Essex, Gardner, Herscher, Hopkins Park, Irwin, Kankakee, Limestone, Momence, Peotone, Reddick, South Wilmington, St. Anne, Sun River Terrace and Union Hill.

For more information, please contact Cloonen’s constituent service office at (815) 939-1983 or by email at

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.

More News