Rain Fog/Mist
56°FRain Fog/MistFull Forecast

Two Morris girls make All-NIB12 basketball team

Published: Wednesday, March 6, 2013 9:20 p.m. CDT

Two Morris underclassmen were among the players honored on the 2012-13 All-Northern Illinois Big 12 Conference girls basketball team, which was recently released.

Julie Jurasits, a sophomore, and Leona Burton, a freshman, both of Morris, were both honorable mention selections for the NIB12 East All-Conference team.

Michelle Dobbs, a senior from Rochelle, was named the NIB12 East MVP. She was selected to the nine-player first team, as were seniors Rachel Torres and Courtney Patrick and sophomore Madelyne Johnson of DeKalb, junior Abby Gould of Rochelle, junior Corrine Rowe and senior Mackenzie Bollinger of Yorkville, senior Emma Bradford of Kaneland and sophomore Bailey Gilbert of Sycamore. Torres, Johnson, Dobbs, Bollinger, Bradford and Gilbert were unanimous picks.

Joining Jurasits and Burton as honorable mention selections in the East were freshman Brittney Patrick of DeKalb, senior Christina Williams of Rochelle, seniors Allyson O'Herron and Ashley Prost of Kaneland and freshman Lauren Goff of Sycamore.

Dixon junior Brooke Bailey was named MVP of the NIB12 West All-Conference team. She was joined on the eight-member first team by senior Jaleesa Kindred and juniors Jasmine Bailey and Catie Carlson of Ottawa, juniors Kiarra Harris and Kaitlyn Bauer of Sterling, senior Emily Ford of Geneseo and senior Britany Zawacki of La Salle-Peru. Kindred, Jasmine Bailey, Carlson, Harris, Bauer, Ford and Brooke Bailey were all selected unanimously.

West Division honorable mention selections were junior Cassidy Rice of Ottawa, sophomore Gabby Sandoval and senior Steph Kester or Sterling, juniors Jamie DeFauw and Molly DeBrock of Geneseo, senior Brianna Argubright of La Salle-Peru, senior Kacie Dillow of Dixon and junior Morgan Sharisky and senior Hannah Cox of Streator.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.