41°FOvercastFull Forecast

NHS inducts 35 new members

Candlelight induction ceremony held Feb. 6 at Morris High School

Published: Thursday, March 14, 2013 7:00 a.m. CDT
(Photo submitted by Morris Community High School)
Thirty-five students were recently inducted into Morris Community High School’s chapter of the National Honor Society. Pictured in the photo above, in the back row are Austin Conrod, Alexander Magers, John Brooks, Jeffrey Perry, Timothy Smyk, Matthew Bernickus, Timothy Gile and Dean Meucci; in the third row are Valerie Pfaff, Nicholas Marino, Tyler Thuente, Lukas Terhall, Grant Schluntz, Trevor Lines, Samuel Allen, Eric Robinson, Kelly Kolotka, and Samantha Obrochta; in the second row are Alyssa Rogers, Lauren Severson, Kaitlin Friend, Molly Fruland, Carol Marie Gaska, Robbi Hicks, Yesenia Guzman, Kellen Bernickus, Brittany Kinney and Emily Ashworth; and in the front row are Jenna Runchey, Jenna Carpenter, Sabrije Fejzoski, Alexandria Cook, Kirsten Bridgemen, Morgan Hussey and Jacqueline Murphy.

The annual induction ceremony of Morris Community High School’s Chapter of the National Honor Society was held Feb. 6, 2013.

There were 29 juniors and six seniors inducted during the candlelight ceremony, which was held in the school’s auditorium beginning at 7:30 p.m. that evening.

Sean Phillips and Grace Kumor, both senior NHS members, performed musical selections as parents, grandparents and other special guests were seated.

MCHS Superintendent Dr. Patrick Halloran welcomed the NHS chapter members, all new inductees and special guests to the ceremony on behalf of the Board of Education.

Kelly Hussey, MCHS principal, then presented comments concerning the ceremony and introduced the NHS Faculty Council and other faculty members who were in attendance.

NHS President Rachel Neuhalfen also welcomed everyone and orchestrated the ceremony for the evening. Her first introduction was that of Jessica Eastman, senior NHS member, who presented the “Purpose” of the organization. She was followed by Adam Skelton, who presented a reading on “Character,” one of the four pillars upon which NHS is founded.

“Scholarship,” the second pillar, was read by senior NHS member Jessica Sweeney. “Leadership,” the third pillar, was read by Craig Claire, NHS vice president. The last pillar, “Service,” was presented by Kade Bashor, senior member of NHS.

Each inductee is judged on these four pillars before being invited to be a member of the chapter.

Each inductee then participated in a pledge to the society led by Rachel Neuhalfen and Mrs. Barbara Rath, NHS Adviser. Representing the National Association of Secondary School Principals, Mr. Kelly Hussey then accepted the membership of each inductee.

Each newly inducted member and their chosen sponsor advanced together to the stage as the NHS president took roll call.

The sponsor was witness to his or her inductee’s signing of the membership book, lighting of the candle (representing acceptance of the four pillars), introduction of family and guests, and acceptance of the NHS pendant. In addition, each inductee indicated to the audience what the reason was for choosing his or her particular witness.

A reception was held following the ceremony in the MCHS cafeteria for all members, their guests and the MCHS faculty and administrators.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.

More News