59°FOvercastFull Forecast

Diamond Celebration

Omicron Chapter takes trip back to 1938 to mark 75th anniversary

Published: Wednesday, April 3, 2013 9:52 a.m. CDT
Omicron Chapter Special Events Chair Patty Hopkins, standing from left, poses with committee members Theresa Cameron, Char Farrell, and, sitting from left, Kay Carlson and Nancy Martin. The chapter of Delta Kappa Society International marked its 75th anniversary with a March 19 celebration in Ottawa.

Omicron Chapter Delta Kappa Society International celebrated its 75th anniversary on March 19, 2013, with a buffet dinner at Pitstick’s in Ottawa.

Members and guests had an opportunity to look at yearbooks from Omicron’s inception in 1938 to 2013.

In conjunction with the 75th celebration, Past President Patty Hopkins created as a memento for the 75th Celebration,  the “Delightful Dining Cook-book.”

Lambda State President Sandy McGaughy, Lambda State Past President Loryann Eis,  Gamma Phi Past Presidents Pat Wiggim and  Lynn Weber, with Gamma Phi sister  Alice Steele, joined the celebration.  Many well wishes were received from Lambda State Past Presidents, Omicron Past President Judy Ontko,  and from Ambassador of Good Will, LouAnn Jacobs.

Dinner music was provided by Sue Gillio’s Flute Choir of La Salle, Ill.

Patty Hopkins, special events chair, presented “The World in 1938.” Committee members helped to distribute items connected to 1938 to guests.

The Dedication of the 75th Event followed and everyone sang “God Bless America,” which was sung in 1938 by Kate Smith. A PowerPoint presentation prepared by Pat Misener and updated by Bev Madsen and Patty Hopkins, entitled “Celebrating 75 Years,” followed.  Patty Hopkins recognized the present Omicron President and nine Omicron Past Presidents attending.

The President in 1938 was Carolyn Barth. After her sudden death a few months later, Ethel Schuman Bugbee took over the helm.

The Present President is Paula Freepartner.  Members of the Special Events Committee include Patty Hopkins, Chair; Theresa Cameron, Char Farrell, Nancy Martin, Kay Carlson, and Pat Misener.

The celebration ended with the singing of the Delta Kappa Gamma Song.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.

More News