52°FOvercastFull Forecast

Cheshareck gets majority in vote for Dist. 60C presidency

Published: Tuesday, May 7, 2013 11:32 a.m. CST

In a special election Monday evening, the Saratoga Elementary Dist. 60C school board appointed Kathleen Cheshareck its new president.

“I’m looking forward to the opportunity,” Cheshareck said after the vote. “I’m looking forward to working with the board and working together for the good of the students and school.”

She replaces Scott Heren, who did not run in the special election.

This election was called because the one held a week earlier was not valid.

Three members — Heren, Cheshareck and Ginger Jones — ran and received three, two and two votes, respectively.

But, according to Superintendent Kathy Perry, a majority of board members is required to elect a president. That means four of the seven would have needed to give approval.

Perry said that in the years she has been superintendent, she has never encountered the situation.

“It was something I haven’t seen before,” Perry said.

On Monday, Cheshareck received five votes and Jones received two.

The board also ratified Mark Overbeck as vice president.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.