Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

Objections raised before MCHS board reorganizes

New board president says actions are against IASB rules

MINOOKA — The Minooka Community High School Board of Education seated its newest members Thursday night, May 2, but not before objections were made about how the outgoing board conducted its final meeting.

Incoming board member Mike Brozovich spoke to the outgoing board during public comments, prior to being seated.

Reorganization of the board was scheduled following business conducted by the outgoing board, which included matters to be discussed and decided in closed session.

According to the Illinois Association of School Boards, no business is to be transacted by the outgoing board during a reorganizational meeting other than seating the new members, Brozovich said.

While it’s not a law to conduct the meeting in that matter, it is an IASB guideline, he said, adding that incoming board members should be a part of making those decisions.

“I am very disappointed in the way the current board is running the reorganizational meeting,” Brozovich said. “I was elected to a four year term; we have legal liabilities to the state of Illinois, not to mention a moral commitment to the community.”

Board member Patty Ruettiger moved to swear in the new members prior to board business, but was voted down.

Before leaving for closed session, Ruettiger said she agreed that no business should have been conducted.

“I don’t think it’s something we should do prior to seating new board members,” Ruettiger said.

Following closed session, the outgoing board approved the hiring of John Burke as the district’s Director of Business and Finance.

Burke will replace Business Manager Todd Drafall, who is leaving the district as of June 30.

The board also hired Alan Price, who has been serving as interim Transportation Director, as permanent director.

Ruettiger voted against all action taken by the board, while board member Jim Butterbach abstained from all actions.

Board President Chris Kobe later said the board voted on items they had been working on together for a long time.

“We are trying to finish business,” Kobe said. “I think we did what we are needing to do.”

Incoming board members Brozovich, Michelle Mullen and Jennifer Miney were sworn in. Kobe and Ruettiger retained their seats.

Brozovich was elected as board president in a 4-3 vote; Ruettiger was elected as vice-president in a 4-3 vote; Miney was elected secretary in a 4-3 vote; and Drafall was elected treasurer in a unanimous vote.

Earlier in the meeting, outgoing board members Douglas Kauffman, Jeff Wunderlich and Jim Butterbach were recognized for their service to the board.

Kauffman and Wunderlich each served a two-year term while Butterbach has been on the board for eight years.

“I have enjoyed working and serving the citizens of the district and hope this new board will keep things moving,” Butterbach said.

Loading more