55°FFog/MistFull Forecast

Route 66 group choses inductees for Hall of Fame

Banquet in Lincoln on June 8

Published: Saturday, May 18, 2013 5:00 a.m. CST

PONTIAC, Ill. —  The Route 66 Association of Illinois has announced the newly elected 2013 members of the Route 66 Association Hall of Fame.

This year, there were 17 nominations for the Hall of Fame Committee to consider for this prestigious honor. Every year, nominations are accepted for those people, businesses, and destinations that meet the criteria of having made significant contributions to the character or history of the Illinois portion of Route 66.

The newest members to be inducted at the Hall of Fame banquet on Saturday, June 8, in Lincoln, Illinois will be: The Palms Grill, Atlanta; George B. Cathcart, Edwardsville; and the Wilbur Fawns Sr. Family, of Williamsville and Sherman.

The Route 66 Association has its Annual Motor Tour starting Friday, June 7, proceeding south on Saturday, June 8, and ending on Sunday, June 9.

This year’s tour, Back To Our Routes, starts in Plainfield on Friday night. Saturday morning, there will be a huge sendoff at the Route 66 Museum in Berwyn before participants head south to the Hall of Fame dinner/new member’s induction ceremony at Lincoln College in Lincoln.

Sunday morning, they will start heading south again and the tour will conclude with a party at the new Route 66 Welcoming Center and Museum in Litchfield.

Duke Cartwright is this year’s honorary Grand Marshall of the 24th annual Motor Tour.

Details can be found on the website:

Also you can check out their Facebook as well.

Tour info and flyers are available to download off both their web page and Facebook page.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.

More News