Light Rain Fog/Mist
43°FLight Rain Fog/MistFull Forecast

2013 All-NIB 12 baseball team announced

Published: Wednesday, June 5, 2013 6:15 p.m. CDT

Six Morris Runnin’ Redskins were named to the All-Northern Illinois Big 12 Team in recent days. Led by Most Valuable Player Jake Capko, the locals finished second in the NIB12E this spring. Capko shared MVP honors with Kyle Shimp of Yorkville.

Others making the All-League list included: junior shortstop Trevor Lines, senior outfielder Grant Davis, senior pitcher/designated hitter Preston Miracle, junior infielder Matt Bernickus and senior catcher Capko. Senior Brian Henry also made the team.

Yorkville won the East with an 11-4 record while Morris was 10-5 and tied with Sycamore for second. Yorkville was 19-14 this spring, Morris 27-7 and Sycamore 22-10.

Yorkville had five players on the team, including Sam Flamini, Chris Hill, Brett Assell, Connor Longust and Shimp and Sycamore had Alex Keller, Scott Nelson and Cole Nelson on the All-Conference team.

In the bottom half of the East, Kaneland (12-16) was 7-8 in confernence action, DeKalb (12-17) 5-10 and Rochelle (2-23) 2-13.

Kaneland’s selections were: Matt Limbrunner and Tyler Carlson and DeKalb’s Danny Petras also got picked, though Jared Johnson and Corey Nelson were honorable mention. Also being named honorable mention were: Luke Manning of Rochelle, Tom Kinney of Yorkville, Josh Cohrs and Tyler Bellock of Kaneland and Brett Weaver of Sycamore.

Out West, Ottawa (24-3) won the conference with a 14-1 record followed by La Salle-Peru (20-6) at 11-4. Next was Geneseo (22-12, 7-8); Sterling (13-19, 5-10); Streator (9-23, 5-10) and Dixon (10-22, 3-12).

Outfielder Michael Hermosillo was named the West MVP and was one of five Pirates named All-Conference. Others making the team from Ottawa were: Brazen Wheeler (infield), Colten Trager (Ottawa), Jonah Morris (pitcher) and Kyle Wallbaum (pitcher). L-P had four picks in Adam Happ (infield), Austin Smith (infield), Bret Storm (outfield) and Kyle Jenkins (pitcher).

Rounding out the West All-Conference team was: Tanner Morse (infield) of Sterling, Rayce Singbush (outfield) of Geneseo, Michael Daniels (catcher) of Geneseo, David Gottenmoller (catcher) of Sterling and Billy Converse (pitcher) of Geneseo.

Making honorable mention were: Zach Riffe and Adam Stenzel of Geneseo; Colin Bundy and Stanley Mroczek and Colton Olson of Streator; Nick Harsted of Ottawa; John Thomas of Dixon and Nate Burris and Andrez Martinez of La Salle-Peru.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.