Mostly Cloudy
76°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

Coal City, Seneca baseball get two All-I8 picks

Published: Wednesday, July 10, 2013 5:00 p.m. CDT

The Interstate Eight Conference released its All-League baseball selections in recent days with 16 kids in the North being named and 15 boys from the South making the cut. Westmont won the North Division this spring and  had five kids named to the All-Conference team because of it. In the South, Herscher won the division and was rewarded with four picks.

Locally, Coal City finished third behind Lisle and got two players named to the All-Conference North squad in senior outfielder Austin McLuckie and senior outfielder Nate Natyshok. 

Seneca got two selections in senior outfielder Logan Pifer and senior pitcher/outfielder Brian Bergeson.

I-8 North Division

The rest of the Interstate Conference North Division team includes: Westmont sophomore shortstop Charlie Donovan, Westmont senior second baseman Ryan Schlicher, Westmont senior pitcher/outfielder Jean Pietrzak, Westmont junior pitcher/outfielder Bailey Watros, Westmont senior catcher Robert Kokoszka, Lisle senior pitcher/outfielder Alex Ventrella, Lisle senior pitcher/outfielder Ryan Van Volkenburg, Lisle junior catcher Kevin Coppin, Sandwich senior pitcher/first baseman Jake Roehn, Sandwich pitcher/shortstop Jeffery Woods, Plano senior third baseman Nate Lee and Plano pitcher/outfielder Cody Dryden.

I-8 South Division

Reed-Custer, Wilmington and Dwight got kids named to the South team. The Comets and Wildcats each got two picks and the Trojans one.

For Reed-Custer, senior pitcher/outfielder Cody Mass and senior shortstop Eric Robinson made the cut and for Wilmington senior pitcher Nick Anderson and senior pitcher/outfielder Nick Anderson also made it. Dwight senior center fielder Ryan Kodat was the selection for the Trojans.

Herscher led the field with four All-Conference selections. Those were Braden Muhlstadt, Blake Patchett, senior catcher Evan Regez and senior outfielder Kyle Burton. 

Manteno had four selections in junior pitcher/first baseman Drew Nichols, sophomore infielder/outfielder/pitcher Lucas Robbins, junior outfielder Adam Schaeffer and senior third baseman Nick Kirchschlager. Peotone’s picks were senior pitcher Adam Slager and senior outfielder Frank Kolb.

D.J. Cocks of Westmont and Eric Regez of Herscher were named coaches of the year for their respective divisions.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.