Light Drizzle
41°FLight DrizzleFull Forecast

Extension of Homeowner Protection Act signed into law

Cloonen co-sponsored measure to reduce foreclosure crisis

Published: Wednesday, July 24, 2013 9:10 a.m. CST

KANKAKEE, IL – Seek-ing to reduce Illinois’ foreclosure crisis, a measure state Representative Kate Cloonen co-sponsored to extend the Homeowner Protection Act by 10 years has been signed into law.

“When I speak with families at their homes throughout the district, an alarming number tell me that they are on the brink of foreclosure and do not know where to turn for assistance,” Cloonen said.

“This measure will keep communities intact and let struggling residents stay in their homes. By extending the Homeowner Protection Act, Illinois residents will have an additional opportunity to manage their finances before being at risk of losing their homes.”

House Bill 99 extends the HPA by 10 years, to July 1, 2023.

It will still require lenders and loan servicers to notify homeowners at the first sign of trouble when a mortgage is 30 days delinquent. Once notified of a delinquency, homeowners will have 30 days to seek mortgage-counseling services to get their loans back on track.

If a borrower enters counseling, he or she would receive an additional 30-day moratorium on foreclosure in order to work out a payment plan or refinance option.

Once a payment plan or refinance is agreed, all three parties involved in the process – the homeowner, the lender or servicer and the housing counselor – will form a written agreement outlining the terms of the new arrangement.

“House Bill 99 is a strong step toward assisting families in need and allowing residents to stay in their homes,” Cloonen said. “My goal as state representative is to assist our community in any way I can. I am proud of this legislation and glad to see it signed into law.”

Cloonen represents the 79th District, which includes all or portions of Aroma Park, Beecher, Bonfield, Bourbonnais, Braceville, Bradley, Buckingham, Cabery. Chebanse, Coal City, Diamond, Essex, East Brooklyn, Gardner, Herscher, Hopkins Park, Irwin, Kankakee, Limestone, Momence, Peotone, Reddick, South Wilmington. St. Anne, Sun River Terrace and Union Hill.

For more information, please contact Cloonen’s constituent service office at (815) 939-1983 or by email at

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.