Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

Halloween costume contest winners announced

MORRIS – The Eagles Hall in downtown Morris was packed Thursday with mice, minions, magicians and more.

People from throughout the county wore their most creative costumes to compete in the annual Morris Lions Club Costume Contest. The contest has been a Morris Halloween staple for more than 40 years, said Lori Linn, chairwoman for the contest.

Contestants were judged on creativity and originality. Everyone from infants to adults was allowed to participate in one of the seven age groups. Four winners were selected from each category and awarded a cash prize. All contestants were given candy.

Winners of the contest are listed below, all spellings are from the Morris Lions Club.

AGES 0-2

Grand prize – Teagan Wyke, Cabbage Patch doll

1st prize – Mallia Poett, mousetrap with cheese

2nd prize – Bristol Sjostrom, peacock

3rd prize – Owen Burla, Thomas the Tank Engine

AGES 3-4

Grand prize – Bennett Sandeno, Merida

1st prize – Shane Boyle, robot

2nd prize – Caden Medler & Adelyn Medler, Fred and Daphne of Scooby Doo

3rd prize – Morgan Stockman, clown

AGES 5-6

Grand prize – Rhoin Zopp, Bo Peep and her sheep

1st prize – Aiden Gillespie, Mario

2nd prize – Tanner Kempiak, princess

3rd prize – Payton Taylor, princess

AGES 7-8

Grand prize – Dani Britt, magician’s rabbit

1st prize – Lucas Poett, creeper from Minecraft

2nd prize – Abdrew Rickmon, chef

3rd prize – Nathan Etavard, Angry Birds pig

Loading more