Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

Southwest Prairie unveils All-League volleyball, soccer teams

The Southwest Prairie Conference announced the All-Conference volleyball and soccer teams with Minooka garnering three spikers to the team and two soccer players.

On the volleyball side, seniors Skyler Day and Natalie Yard made it as an outside hitter and libero, respectively, while junior middle hitter Jessica Karalow also made the team.

The Most Valuable Player of the league was given to Kate Federico – a senior setter for Plainfield North.

Also making the team for North was senior outside hitter Dakota Santore, sophomore outside hitter Allie Lindroth and junior outside player Kaitlyn Fisher.

Oswego had two selections in senior outside hitter Jessica Johnson and sophomore setter Katelyn Burke.

For Oswego East, junior libero Hailey Aguilar and junior outside hitter Kelly Bertrand made the squad this fall; Plainfield Central junior outside hitter Elizabeth Hyland and freshman setter Ashley Shook made the team; and Plainfield East sophomore outside hitter MacKenzi Welsh was named.

Plainfield East won the team sportsmanship award.

For the soccer teams, Logan Wright of Plainfield North was the Most Valuable Player of the league. He’s a senior forward.

Also making the team for North were: senior defensman Garrett Gathman, senior midfielder Tyler Petprachan, sophomore forward Austin Collier, sophomore midfielder Austin Hansen and freshman keeper Cade Fink.

Romeoville was next with four picks. That included sophomore forward Christian Duarte, sophomore forward Danny Martinez, junior midfielder Jason Silvar and junior midfielder Victor Rodriguez.

Plainfield Central was next on the list with three players including: senior defensman Tom Poznanski, senior midfielder Miguel Duran and junior midfielder Ozzie Gutierrez.

Minooka had senior midfielder Giacomo Raimondi and sophomore Matt Dlugopolski selected to the team.

Plainfield South, Oswego and Oswego East had two picks apiece.

For South, senior forwards Miguel Espinoza and Cesar Bautista made it and for East, senior midfielder Nathaniel Paisley and junior keeper Sean Phetchanpheng were chosen.

Rounding out the team this fall was: Oswego junior forward Rodolfo Moreno, Oswego senior defenseman Victor Contreras and Plainfield East senior forward Ryan Olans.

Loading more