Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

Final petitions are in for primary election

Two local races are set, plust three state races

MORRIS – The primary election March 18 will see two local contested races, both for the Republican Party, and three state races.

Monday was the last day to file petitions to run in the general primary election. Local offices on the primary ballot include the Grundy County clerk, treasurer, sheriff and seats in all three county board districts.

The clerk’s office had two filings: Deputy Clerk Kay Olson as a Democrat and Mary Michael Roth as a Republican. The treasurer’s office also only had two: incumbent Marcy Miller, a Democrat, and Lori Werden as a Republican.

The Grundy County Sheriff’s Office will have a contested Republican race in the primary. Both Ken Briley and Ron Marx filed as Republicans on Nov. 25, the day filing began. They both filed at 8 a.m. and therefore a lotto drawing will be at 10 a.m. Dec. 11 at the clerk’s office to determine whose name will be first on the ballot.

Incumbent Sheriff Kevin Callahan was the only person to file as a Democrat for the office.

District 1 of the Grundy County Board is the only district to have a race for the primary election. Each district will have three seats available in the November general election. Each party can have three candidates run for the seats. The primary election will determine who the three are for each party.

District 1 will have a race for the Republican Party. Incumbents John Almer and Mildred (Millie) Dyer both filed, as did newcomers Don Neushwander Jr. and Elton Monson.

Three candidates filed as Democrats as well for District 1: Incumbent Ken Iverson, Barry Aldrich and Kelly Valentine.

In District 2, two Democrats and three Republicans filed. The two Democrats are Michael Clemmons, Grundy County Democratic Central Committee chairman, and Dave Udstuen. The Republicans are incumbent Debra (Deb) Warning, Kerri Courtright and David Nelson.

District 3 has two candidates for each party: Democrats Richard (Dick) Joyce and Jim Ryan, both incumbents, and Republicans Douglas (Doug) Boresi, who is an incumbent, and newcomer Clark Barkley.

The state races also will see some primary races.

In the 75th District for the state House incumbent John Anthony, R-Plainfield, and current Grundy County Board Chairman Ron Severson, R-Morris, will face off. Morris resident Martha Shugart is the only Democrat to file for the seat.

Anthony said Monday he had more than 1,000 signatures for his petition. Anthony was appointed this fall to replace Pam Roth, R-Morris, who resigned because she was moving out of state.

He said he was amazed by the support he was given going door to door.

“Right now I am focusing on being a good legislator and tomorrow’s pension vote coming up,” Anthony said. “I’m going to continue to meet people and use this office to help as many people as I can in the 75th and just focus on being a great legislator.”

Severson said he obtained almost 750 signatures for his petition and also received positive support. He said he will be waiting until after the holidays to return to campaigning in order to let people enjoy their holidays, politics-free.

“The seat has always been in Grundy County, even when I was a kid, and I think people want that,” he said. “I’ve lived in the 75th most of my life.”

Shugart, who is unopposed in the primary election, said she obtained 1,000 signatures and is concentrating on expressing her dedication to the voters in the district.

“We live in a great country and we live in a great community and I just want to get in there make it even better,” she said.

The 79th District for the state House had two Democrats file and one Republican: incumbent Kate Cloonen, D-Kankakee, John Howard, D-Hopkins Park, and Glenn Nixon, R-Bourbonnais.

For the 16th Congressional District, David J. Hale Jr., R-Rockford, filed to run against incumbent Adam Kinzinger, R-Channahon, in the primary. Randall Olsen, D-Ottawa, filed as well.


Grundy County Sheriff
• Ken Briley, R
• (I) Kevin M. Callahan, D
• Ron Marx, R

Grundy County Clerk
• Kay Olson, D
• Mary Michael Roth, R

Grundy County Treasurer
• (I) Marcy Miller, D
• Lori A. Werden, R

Grundy County Board District 1
• Barry Aldrich, D
• (I) John M. Almer, R
• (I) Mildred (Millie) Dyer, R
• (I) Ken Iverson, D
• Elton Monson, R
• Don Alan Neushwander Jr., R
• Kelly Valentine, D

Grundy County Board District 2
• Michael Clemmons, D
• Kerri Courtright, R
• David M. Nelson, R
• Dave Udstuen, D
• (I) Debra (Deb) Warning, R

Grundy County Board District 3
• Clark D. Barkley, R
• (I) Douglas (Doug) M. Boresi, R
• (I) Richard (Dick) P. Joyce, D
• (I) Jim Ryan, D

75th State House District
• (I) John Anthony, R, from Plainfield
• Ron Severson, R, from Morris
• Martha Shugart, D, from Morris

79th State House District

• (I) Kate Cloonen, D, from Kankakee
• John Howard, D, from Hopkins Park
• Glenn Nixon, R, from Bourbonnais

16th Congressional District
• David J. Hale Jr., R, from Rockford
• (I) Adam Kinzinger, R, from Channahon
• Randall W. Olsen, D, from Ottawa

U.S. Senate
• Douglas L. Truax, R, Downers Grove
• James Oberweis, R, Sugar Grove
• Armen Alvarez, R, Chicago
• William Lee, R, Chicago
• (I) Richard Durbin, D, Springfield

An (I) indicates an incumbent
D indicates someone who has filed as a Democrat
R indicates someone who has filed as a Republican

Loading more