Light Rain Fog/Mist
44°FLight Rain Fog/MistFull Forecast

Morris High School announces Illinois State Scholars

Published: Saturday, Dec. 28, 2013 5:30 a.m. CDT
(Photo provided)
Pictured are the 2014-15 Morris Community High School Illinois State Scholars

Morris Community High School Principal Kelly Hussey is pleased to announce that 27 MCHS students have been recognized as 2014-15 Illinois State Scholars.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top 10 percent of high school seniors from high schools across the state. Selection is based on SAT, ACT and/or Prairie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High school guidance counselors work in conjunction with the Illinois Student Assistance Commission to determine the winners.

The recognized MCHS students are: Samuel Allen, Kellen Bernickus, Kirsten Bridgemen, Austin Conrod, Alexandria Cook, Angel Dinelli, Kaitlin Friend, Molly Fruland, Nathan Gagnon (not pictured), Carol Gaska, Morgan Hussey, Kelly Kolotka, Brock Kukman, Chet Lear, Shiva Lennon-Rios, Trevor Lines, Nicholas Marino, Rebecca McKee, Dean Meucci, Samantha Obrochta, Valerie Pfaff, Eric Robinson, Alyssa Rogers, Madeline Sandgren, Eric Sapsford, Lauren Severson and Lukas Terhall.

While the prestigious recognition does not include a monetary award, recipients are encouraged to cite the honor on applications for college admission and scholarships in addition to completing the free application for federal student aid to determine eligibility for federal and state aid.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.