49°FOvercastFull Forecast

Coal City girls hoops heads up All I-8 class

Published: Tuesday, March 4, 2014 9:55 p.m. CDT
(Craig Lincoln file photo for Shaw Media)
Coal City junior Nicole Borgetti was named to the All-Interstate Eight Conference girls basketball team for her play with the Coalers this season.
(Craig Lincoln file photo for Shaw Media)
Seneca senior Mallory Misener was named to the Interstate Eight Conference first team and to the senior All-Star team for her play this winter.

The Interstate Eight Conference recently announced its girls All-Conference team, as well as the senior All-Star nominations. Coal City had three girls named to the All-Star team, four to the first team and one more as honorable mention.

Seneca had three senior All-Stars and three first team picks on the All I-8 team this year.

Coal City won the league this winter while finishing with an 11-0 slate. Emily Halliday, Brittany Jezik and Britta Spelde were named senior All-Stars from the Coalers. Anna Baker, Danielle Hauch and Mallory Misener from Seneca also garnered senior All-Star status. The rest of the senior All-Star team included: Clarissa Martinez of Plano, Caitlyn Welch of Reed-Custer, Sierra Birdsell of Lisle and Alyson Wimken of Dwight.

Peotone finished second in the I-8 this season to Coal City. The Blue Devils had a final league record of 10-1. Seneca was next at 9-2, followed by Lisle (7-4), Plano (7-4), Reed-Custer (5-6), Herscher (4-7), Westmont (4-7), Wilmington (4-7), Dwight (2-9), Manteno (2-9) and Sandwich (1-10).

Joining Halliday, Spelde and Jezik on the All-Conference team from Coal City was Nicole Borgetti and Madyson Bunton was honorable mention.

Three seniors made the All-Conference team without getting All-Star mention. That was Alexis Casey of Wilmington, Kaylyn Wedra of Sandwich and Natalie Hatalla of Manteno. Juniors Emily Carstens of Peotone, Mara Casper of Westmont, Dana Hodgin of Herscher and Sarah Morgensen of Lisle were named to the first team, along with Westmont sophomore Annie Carlson and Peotone sophomore Cora Graffeo.

Rounding out the honorable mention core was: Carley Maupin of Peotone, Miranda Southall of Wilmington, Lexi Matthews and Gabby Cinnamon of Herscher, Skyler Hall of Peotone and Jewel Hope of Plano.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.