Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

Jurasits named unanimous All-NIB12E girls selection

Bailey seemed to be the key name in regards to the Northern Illinois Big 12 girls basketball teams this winter.

Ottawa senior Jasmin Bailey and Dixon senior Brooke Bailey were not only unanimous first-team NIB12W picks this season, they were also named Co-MVP’s of that side of the league. In the East, junior Bailey Gilbert was named the unanimous MVP of the division.

Locally, Morris junior Julie Jurasits was a unanimous All-NIB12E first team pick and senior teammate Katie Friend was given honorable-mention status.

“I’m very proud of Julie and Katie making the all-conference team,” Morris coach Kate Carey said. “They are easily two of the top players in our conference and deserve the recognition.”

Jurasits, a 6-0 guard/forward, averaged 16 points per game this winter for the Redskins while also averaging nine rebounds per contest. She shot 53 percent from the field.

DeKalb won the East with a 9-1 record and they had two unanimous All-Conference picks in junior Madelyn Johnson and sophomore Brittney Patrick. It is the fourth straight year that the Barbs have captured at least a share of the league crown. However, unlike Sycamore and Bailey, the Barbs did not win a regional championship. The Lady Spartans won their first regional crown since 2003 by capturing the Class 3A Plano Regional title — defeating Kaneland 40-20 to do so.

In addition to Gilbert of Sycamore, the Spartans also had sophomore Lauren Goff make the All-Conference team as a unanimous selection. The Lady Knights had one unanimous pick in senior Kelly Wallner.

The final two unanimous sports in the NIB12E were Rochelle senior Abby Gould and Yorkville senior Corrine Rowe.

Morris senior post player Friend was named as honorable mention. She averaged eight points and six rebounds per game this year while shooting 30 percent from the field.

DeKalb, Yorkville and Kaneland each had two players gain honorable mention status. Senior Paige Wogen and junior Alexis Hammond made it for the Barbs, seniors Lindsey Shlichting and Rachel Owens made it for the Foxes and senior Caroline Heimerdinger and junior Ally Van Bogaert made it for the Knights. Sophomore Taiya Hopkins from Sycamore and senior Marin Meiners from Rochelle also were named honorable mention.

Like DeKalb in the East, Ottawa won the West but did not win a regional. The only team in the NIB12W to claim a regional championship was Geneseo. In Class 3A Geneseo defeated Galesburg 34-30 in overtime of its own regional.

In addition to Bailey, seniors Catie Carlson and Cassidy Rice made the All-Conference team from Ottawa. Geneseo seniors Molly DeBrock and Jamie DeFauw also made the team along with Sterling seniors Kaitlyn Bauer and Kiarra Harris. Dixon also had two unanimous selections in Bailey and junior Carly Hartle. The final unanimous pick from the West went to LaSalle-Peru junior Hannah Wolfe.

Streator had two honorable mention picks in senior Morgan Sharisky and sophomore Alexis Black. Each of the other five teams had one honorable mention pick including: Ottawa junior Jessia Wignes, Sterling senior Gabby Sandoval, Dixon junior Maggie Bushman, LaSalle-Peru junior Jena Argubright and Geneseo senior Darci Dietrich.   

Loading more