Light Rain Fog/Mist
43°FLight Rain Fog/MistFull Forecast

Morris’ Patterson a All-NIB12E pick

Published: Friday, March 28, 2014 9:55 p.m. CDT
(Craig Lincoln file photo for Shaw Media)
Morris guard Jake Walker hits for two against the Ottawa Pirates during this past season in a Northern Illinois Big 12 Conference game. Walker was named as an honorable-mention All-Conference pick for the Redskins this winter.

The Northern Illinois Big 12 Boys Basketball All-Conference team was announced in recent days. Morris junior guard Austin Patterson was a unanimous pick. Tyler Carlson of Kaneland and Devin Mottet of Sycamore were named the Co-MVPs on the East side.

Seniors Drew David and John Pruett also were first-team unanimous picks from Kaneland. Rounding out the East side are Sycamore senior Ben Niemann, DeKalb junior Rudy Lopez and Yorkville junior Kyle Shimp.

Out West in the NIB12, Ottawa went 24-2 overall and boasted the MVP of the division in senior John Carroll. He was one of seven unanimous first-team selections. Rounding out the West side are Ottawa sophomore Issac Gassman, Dixon juniors Cal Jarrett and Iaron Carr, Sterling senior Zach Rehmert, Geneseo junior Drew Himmelman, LaSalle-Peru senior Noach Lamboley and Streator junior Max Vickers.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.