Light Rain
42°FLight RainFull Forecast

Hoffman wins Late Model feature in speedway opener

Published: Monday, April 28, 2014 9:28 p.m. CDT
(Brian Nolte/4th Turn Photos)
Veteran driver Eddie Hoffman Jr. celebrates his win in the Late Model feature Friday night at the Grundy County Speedway in Morris.

MORRIS – Scott Koerner led for much of the race, but Eddie Hoffman Jr. slipped past him late and claimed the 44-lap Late Model feature Friday night in the stock car racing season opener at Grundy County Speedway.

Koerner finished second, followed by Larry Schuler, Chris Cooling and James Gregait. Billy Knippenberg, Ricky Baker, David Einhaus, Dean Patterson and Dan Odell rounded out the top 10.

Hoffman also was the fast qualifier.

Kevin Murphy captured the Mid-American feature, followed by Joe Vinachi, Jim Kachel, Matt Clemens, Chuck Yuris, John McMahon, Tom Knippenberg, Luke Baldwin, John Ventrello and Kevin Gentile.

Gentile set the fast time. Clemens won the first heat with Murphy finishing second. McMahon won the second heat ahead of Ventrello.

Christy Penrod won her first street stock feature. Eddie Ligue was second and Jake Bradley third. Tim Stewart, Rob Scamen, Cheryl Hryn, Bob Davis, Paul Polarek, Renee Farren and BJ Grabow rounded out the top 10.

Davis won the heat race with Ligue finishing second. Bradley set the fast time.

Ryan Lagestee claimed the 4-cylinder feature, followed by Justin Mikel, Blaine Passini, Jeff Law, Spencer Leake, Rich Dearborn, Mikey Slabenak, Dan Schmeissing, Ricky Wilson and Tom Kaminski.

Kaminski, Legestee and Jeff Law won heats.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.