44°FOvercastFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

ICS celebrates graduating class of 2014

Published: Wednesday, May 28, 2014 9:37 p.m. CDT • Updated: Wednesday, May 28, 2014 9:47 p.m. CDT
(Photo provided)
Member of the ICS Class of 2014 are Daniel P. Borgstrom, Paige Elizabeth Brummel, Gianna L Graduates of ICS Class of 214: Front Row - Daniel Borgstrom, Joseph Corban, Jenika Smith, Lexi Helland, Reagan Odom, Jack Galloway, Trevor Zink, Amanda Schmidt, Grace Johnson, Blake Niewinski, Jacinda Smith.  Back Row - Nolan Feeney, Paige Brummel, Katelyn Witthuhn, Gianna Corban, Burton Hess, Mrs. Janine Petric - Teacher, Mr. Kim DesLauriers - Principal, Father Ed Howe - Pastor, Kameron Dransfeldt, Nicoleta Meyer, Katerine Durkin, Jared Lines and Nathan Korte.

MORRIS – The graduation ceremony for the Class of 2014 of Immaculate Conception School was during a 7 p.m. liturgy last week.

The graduates processed into the church to the traditional “Pomp and Circumstance,” played by Brent Mitchell. Nathan Korte led his classmates, carrying a standard that was decorated in the school colors of blue and gold. Father Ed Howe, CR, was the celebrant at the Mass. 

Nicoleta Meyer presented the first reading, and Paige Brummel read the second reading. The intercessions were read by Jacinda Smith, Kameron Dransfeldt, Lexi Helland, Daniel Borgstrom, Jenika Smith, Blake Niewinski, Katherine Durkin and Jack Galloway. Gift bearers at the presentation were Joseph Corban, Jared Lines, Nolan Feeney, Burton Hess and Gianna Corban. 

Principal Kim DesLauriers presented the graduates to those present, and Father. Howe awarded them their diplomas. Ken Buck, representative of American Legion Post #294, presented the American Legion Awards to Grace Johnson and Jack Galloway.     

The American Citizenship Awards were presented to Joseph Corban, Kameron Dransfeldt and Nicoleta Meyer. Daniel Borgstrom, Kameron Dransfeldt and Jack Galloway received the President’s Education Award for having maintained at least a 3.5 GPA and scoring in the 90th percentile on standardized tests their seventh and eighth grade years. 

Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics certificates were presented to those with the highest math average in each of the two math groups. Katherine Durkin received it for the pre-algebra group and Jack Galloway for the algebra group. The President’s Physical Fitness Award was presented to Daniel Borgstrom, Kameron Dransfeldt, Nicoleta Meyer and Jacinda Smith.

In his remarks, DesLauriers recognized the ten families of the class of 2014 who will no longer have a child attending Immaculate Conception school.

Member of the ICS Class of 2014 are Daniel P. Borgstrom, Paige Elizabeth Brummel, Gianna Corban, Joseph Corban, Kameron Jodan Dransfeldt, Katherine Elizabeth Durkin, Nolan Oakely Feeney, Jack Robert Galloway, Lexi Marie Helland, Burton Michael Hess, Grace Elizabeth Johnson, Nathan Philip Korte, Jared Matthew Lines, Nicoleta Stefani Meyer, Blake William Niewinski, Reagan Charles Odom, Amanda Mary Schmidt, Jacinda Lane Smith, Jenika Rae Smith, Katelyn M. Witthuhn, and Trevor Zink.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.