Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

Morris High School hosts Honors Day Assembly May 15

MORRIS -- Morris Community High School conducted its annual Honors Day Assembly program May 15 where numerous scholarships and awards were given.

• Daughters of the American Revolution recipient - Kaitlin Friend and Sons of the American Revolution recipient - Austin Conrod.

• Activity Awards given by Kiwanis Club recipients Kelly Kolotka and Grant Schluntz.      

• Morris Police Benevolent Society recipient - Tristan Hunter.

• Dave Potts Memorial Scholarship recipient - Morgan Hussey.

• Grundy Area Vocational Center Activity Fund Scholarship recipients - Christopher Cassidy and Samantha Cherrone.

• Live Stream & Multi Media Scholarship recipient - Emaly Garcia

• Rosalie S. Paulson Scholarship recipient - Grant Schluntz.           

• Spirit of Fruland Scholarship presenter recipient - Dean Meucci III.

• Exelon Nuclear Dresden Generating Station Scholarship recipient - Kelly Kolotka.

• Corsello-Prenzler Art Scholarship recipient - Rebecca McKee.

• Reeves Science Scholarship recipient - Lauren Severson.

• Akzo-Nobel Chemical Scholarship recipient - Jose Salinas Jr.

• Home for the Holidays Scholarship recipients Carol Marie Gaska and Alyssa Rogers.

• Joe B. Laughary Scholarship recipient - Christopher Cassidy.

• American Legion Award recipients Morgan Hussey and Lukas Terhall.

• Boys State recipient - Ian Bashor.

• Morris Masonic Lodge Scholarship recipient - Alyssa Rogers.

• Morris Rotary Scholarship recipients - Lucia Cisneros, Angel Dinelli, Carol Marie Gaska, Morgan Hussey, Jose Salinas Jr., and Grant Schluntz.

• Prom Fest Scholarship recipients Kellen Bernickus, Sam Obrochta, Tim Smyk, and Lukas Terhall.

• Kenneth Hammer Teacher Scholarship recipient - Robbi Hicks.

• Morris Quarterback Club Award recipients Mason Dryfhout and Dalton Ness.

• Sean M. Valentine recipient - Kaitlin Erickson.

• Grundy County Farm Bureau recipient - Trevor Lines.

• Morris Community High School Student Council Always a Redskin Scholarship recipients - Ashley Gibson and Mark Kijowksi.

• James A. Muntefering Scholarship recipient - Dean Meucci III.

• Morris Theater Guild Scholarship recipient - Samantha Obrochta.

• “M” Club Scholarship recipients - Madison Feeney and Austin Laurie.

• Eugene L. Funk Scholarship recipient - Lauren Severson.

• Fred W. Anderson Scholarship recipients Kirsten Bridgemen, John Guistat, Yesenia Guzman, Robbi Hicks, Morgan Hussey, Austin Murphy, Brandon Murphy and Alyssa Rogers.

• Robert and Melissa Ciota Scholarship recipient - Lukas Terhall.

• Mark R. McTague Scholarship recipient - Molly Fruland.

• Roger Gordon Scholarship recipient - Taylor Holm.

• Morris Hospital Foundation Scholarship recipient - Kirsten Galloway.

• Espi Siron Scholarship recipient - Yesenia Guzman.

Dr. Keith and Sen. Sue Rezin Endowment Scholarship recipients - Austin Conrod and Abbey Dergo.

• Ortiz Eye Associates Scholarship recipient - Emily Ashworth.

• Perfect Attendance recipient - Brock Kukman.

• School Citizenship given by Lions Club recipient - Kelly Kolotka and Grant Schluntz.

• Farewell Speech - Grant Schluntz.

Loading more