43°FFog/MistFull Forecast

Hall of Distinction induction set for Jan. 14

Published: Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2016 11:16 p.m. CDT • Updated: Friday, Dec. 30, 2016 12:48 a.m. CDT
Patrick Halloran

History will be made at Morris Community High School on Jan. 14 as the inaugural “Hall of Distinction” class is inducted between basketball games at approximately 5:45 p.m. in the main gymnasium.

The Morris Community High School Education Foundation wants to invite everyone to attend this important ceremony and help honor MCHS alumni and friends of the school and community that have been successful in a variety of ways. The distinguished students and alumni named to the Hall of Distinction represent an extraordinary range of personal and professional achievements.

The Foundation Board of Directors considered over 70 nominations through this initial process and voted in 10 honorees that will be recognized. The hallway outside the main high school office will display plaques commemorating their accomplishments, serving as inspiration for current students to make the most of their high school experience in preparation for making positive contributions to society.

The inaugural class includes MCHS alumni and friends of the school from a variety of backgrounds and decades. The 2017 inaugural class includes Jim and Carol Baum, Ed Brady, Dr. Mark Ciota, Joe Corsello, Dan Darlington, Shirley Kiss, Pete Muffler, Dr. John Roth Jr., Jimmy Stafford, and Elizabeth Talarico.

The Foundation is in the process of securing sponsors for this exciting event. Please visit for information on the induction ceremony.

The Foundation would like to thank Grundy Bank, Morris Rotary, Midwest Signworks, Scott and Sam Shannon, Chuck’s Truckin Inc., Edward Jones, Keith Jorstad and Meaghan McClintock, Chuck and Sally Robinson, Delores Robinson, McGrath’s Office Equipment, and Brown Bear Painting.

Your generous donations are very much appreciated and important in supporting the Hall of Distinction event.

The vision and goals of the MCHS Education Foundation are anchored in the belief that a successful high school can serve as the cornerstone of a community. Establishing a sustained financial base is a major goal of the Foundation so that students, teachers and the community can benefit from enhanced educational opportunities.

The Foundation intends to provide grants and scholarships for nontraditional learning opportunities, work cooperatively with other nonprofit groups to benefit MCHS, and to honor the school’s most distinguished former students, faculty, staff and friends of the school. The group would also like to establish a strong and connected network of MCHS alumni who will support the goals and mission of the Foundation.

The MCHS Foundation consists of a volunteer board made up of nine community members and six high school representatives. The officers are Scott Shannon – President; Kevin Brown – Vice President; J.C. Lawson – Secretary; and Donald Brown – Treasurer. Board members include Jim Feeney, Keith Jorstad, Joan Lines, Joe Martin and Tom Talarico. The group invites those interested in getting involved to contact one of the officers or board members who can provide information about upcoming events and fundraising opportunities.

On behalf of everyone at Morris Community High School, I want to thank the community members involved that have helped the Morris Community High School Foundation get off the ground and encourage the community to support the important vision and goals this group has established.

We hope to see you on Jan. 14.

• Patrick Halloran is the superintendent of Morris Community High School District. Community Pulse is a weekly column that provides a dedicated space for Grundy County-area nonprofits, schools, organizations and sometimes Morris Herald-News staff to share news and information about their organization.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.