Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

Baker claims Late Model win in Night of Features

MORRIS – At Grundy County Speedway’s Night of Features on Sunday, Ricky Baker led a pack of four cars to the finish line in the 61-lap Late Model feature.

Baker edged Eddie Hoffman by .345 seconds and was .867 seconds ahead of third-place Billy Knippenberg. Larry Schuler was fourth, 1.327 seconds off the winning pace.

Rounding out the rest of the top 10 in the Late Model race were Jim Weber, John Nutley, Scott Koerner, Rich Bickle, Tommy Knippenberg and James Gregait.

The Mid-American feature covered 40 laps, and Ron Vandermier Jr. finished .678 seconds ahead of runner-up Kenny Benson.

Matt Clemens took third, followed by Aaron Shelton and Cody Clubb. Making up the rest of the top 10 were Luke Baldwin, Kevin Gentile, Chad Proctor, Kevin Murphy and Jim Kachel.

Randy Weese had a 1.716-second winning margin over Rick Dawson in the 35-lap Street Stock feature, with John Senerchia, Mike Wienc and Dusty Heil following. The rest of the top 10 consisted of Tim Stewart, Cheryl Hyrn, Chad Bayuk, Dalla Frueh and Bill Serviss.

In the 4-Cylinder feature that went 18 laps, Katie Hocking took the checkered flag, followed by Michael Tobuch, Cirk Lindemuth, Danielle Dobczyk and Trevor Starek. Rounding out the top 10 were Scott Gagen, Kyle Royster, Bryce Leake, James Dean and Mark Sontag Jr.

In the 25-lap Midget feature, Ryan Probst cruised to a 5.321-second win over Danny Pens. Making up the rest of the eight-car field were Taylor Fenske, Scott Kerner, Ryan Findley, Bob Shreffler, Doug Oreske and Chris Adrien.

Finally, in the 20-lap Super Cup feature, only five cars finished the entire race. Zachary Tinkle took first, 6.537 seconds ahead of Alex Ertmann. Michael Mucha, Steve Napes and Cyle Lindemuth were the other finishers.


Ryan Probst came away with the win in the 30-lap Illini Midget Championship. He beat out Jordan Caskey, Scott Kerner and Ryan Findley for the top spot, with Chris Adrien, Tom Eyman, Taylor Fenske and Danny Pens also in the running.

In the 4-Cylinder feature race, Brian Clubb took the checkered flag, finishing ahead of James Dean, Scott Gagen, Butch Iverson, Nick Clubb, Trevor Starek, Scott Ingram, Kyle Royster, Terry Candella and Kristi Odom.


Eddie Hoffman captured the 30-lap Late Model feature Friday night, edging James Gregait by .551 seconds and Scott Koerner by .794 seconds. Pat Kelly finished fourth, Billy Knippenberg fifth and the rest of the top 10 was made up by Ryan Finley, Jim Weber, Joe Vinachi, John Ventrello and Brandon Clubb.

In the 25-lap Mid-American feature, Kevin Gentile crossed the finish line .478 seconds ahead of Kevin Murphy and .827 seconds ahead of Kenny Benson. Making up the rest of the top 10 were Cody Clubb, Matt Clemens, Aaron Shelton, Jim Kachel, Geoff VeZain, Chad Proctor and Dylan Marshall.

Chad Bayuk won a tight race in the 25-lap Street Stock feature, nipping John Senerchia by .213 seconds and Randy Weese by .492 seconds. Rounding out the top 10 were Rick Dawson, Rita Fields, Tim Stewart, Eddie Ligue, Craig Matteson, Cheryl Hyrn and Dallas Frueh.

In the 4-Cylinder 15-lap feature, Dan Schmeissing edged Scott Gagen by .127 seconds to claim the win.

The duo was well ahead of the rest of the top 10, which included Michael Tobuch, Chet Hartley, Kristi Odom, Scott Ingram, James Dean, Bryce Leake, Mark Sontag Jr. and Katie Hocking.

Racing concludes Sept. 16 at the Grundy County Speedway with the 56th Annual Tony Bettenhausen Classic 100-Lap race, along with the Illini Midgets and Pure Stocks.

Loading more