Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

Grundy vocational center recognizes students

MORRIS – The Grundy Area Vocational Center hosted an awards ceremony to recognize some of its students May 2. Director’s Awards were presented to students chosen by their instructors for those that went above and beyond. About 20 students also received scholarships donated by individuals and private companies from the area.

Director’s awards

Automotive technology

Kyle Borgman, Mason Carlson, Kaitlin Goocher, Desmond Holas-Norris Jr., Zachary Klingberg, Tyler Super, Torrie Washington and Brady Wytrwal

Building trades

Jakob Eisenbeis, Trevor McIntire, Jack Miller, Gina Misek, Kameron Ruhrup, Jeremy Serchuk, Dakota Watson and Matthew Wepprecht

Computer graphics and multimedia design

Darlynn Best, Story East, Alexander Garcia, Kyle Goad, Gina Isberg, Kimberly McDaniel, Shawn McLey and Alfredo Torres

Computer maintenance technology

Mason Chapman, Nathan Dragovan, Jackson Lampert, Alejandro Ochoa, McKenzie Schroeder, Blake Soszko and Michael Wilson


Anna Benson, Katherine Castellanos, Victoria Mentus, Diana Plascencia, Breanna Ray, Teagan Sandvick, Samantha Vaughn and Kyle Zalewski

Criminal justice – main campus

Matthew Dorenkamper, McKenzie Ellison, Daniel Kleinhoffer, Julia Santiago, Christopher Schager, Deija Stone, Cory Townsend and Cynthia Wright

Criminal justice – CC campus

Marissa Escobedo, Cody Hatton, Tyler Lappe, Morgan Larson, Viviana Velasco, Taylor Viger-Lide, Ryan Wasielewski and Emma Williams

Culinary arts

Blake Adams, Alec Arnold, Mason Borowicz, Mathew Ehrman, Hali Finn, Trinity Staley and Paige Whalen

Early childhood education – main

Chatten Dryfhout, Jazmynn Geist, Kyla Hill, Erin Kindelspire, Carleen Krier, Torri Reyes, Alexiz Smyk and Stacy Tinoco

Early childhood education – CC campus

Anna Bach, Sadey Brewer, Emily Frick, Abbey Gernenz, Cassandra Kubitz, Ashley Miller, Sonja Minnick and Kara Olson

Fire science

Ryan Bezely, Timothy Frakes, Lucas Holliday, Dylan Maxard, Kaden Laurie, Jerad Price, Bryce Wichelt and Skyler Wills

Health occupations

Abbigail Devine, Jessica Kroeger, Samantha Martin, Symantha Noftz, Autumn Patterson, Katrina Pietkiewicz, Isabella Prignano and Dustin Strawmyer


Zachary Bosman, Garrett Evans, Vanessa Gallup, Lucas Holliday, Jeffrey Johnson, Jacob Krug, Hailey Palmer and Adam Smith

Perfect attendance

Morgan Arellano, Kyle Borgman, Samuel Burian, Joshua Chubb, Garett Evans, Morgan Garcia, Abbey Gernenz, Makayla Gilkerson, Logan Gossett, Jacob Hoffman, Zachary Klingberg, Morgan Larson, Joshua-Dakota Leadingham, Spencer McDaniel, Paul McVey, Michael Nwokenkwo, Angelica Olivares, Macey Olson, Allison Pille, Jessica Pope, Austin Pruim, Alec Salomoun, Jeremy Serchuk, Alexis Smyk, Blake Soszko and Jacob Wolski

Program awards

Auto Top Technician: Tyson Ruprecht

Tradesman of the Year: Dakota

Designer of the Year: Alexander

Outstanding Cosmetologist: Diana Plascencia

IT Student of the Year: Jarett Wesen

Officer of the Year (Main campus): Cory Townsend

Officer of the Year (CC campus): Emma N. Williams

Chef of the Year: Alec Arnold

Star Educator of Tomorrow (main
campus): Chloe Osborn

Star Educator of Tomorrow (CC
campus): Sonja Minnick

Firefighter Candidate of the Year: Dylan Maxard

Health Occupations Student of the Year: Stephaine Potter

Denny Thorson Welding Award:
Jeffery Johnson

Loading more