Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Mail Delivery

Mail Delivery
We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Morris and Grundy County.

Scholars from Morris, Minooka, Mazon, Coal City honored

Morris student among researches at SIU

Thirteen Southern Illinois University Carbondale undergraduate students who are participating in a program that prepares them for careers in research will present their work at the 16th annual McNair Summer Research Symposium in downstate Illinois on July 19. 

The symposium includes 18 poster presentations from students participating in McNair, ILSAMP and SUPRE-affiliated undergraduate research programs. 

Four faculty judges will evaluate projects in two categories: STEM fields and social sciences and humanities. First- and second-place awards are given in each category. Rhetta Seymour, McNair Scholars Program interim director will present awards beginning at noon. 

The Summer Research Institute is an eight-week intensive program that equips McNair Scholars with the necessary research skills to succeed in graduate school. Students pair with faculty members on their respective research projects. 

Included among the presenters is Jessica Jurak of Morris. Jurak is a physics major, and will present her research, “Toward Developing Immunoassays Using the HE4 Biomarker to Improve the Early Detection of Epithelial Ovarian Cancer.”

SIU has received McNair funding since 2003.

Named for the late Ronald E. McNair, a physicist and astronaut who died in the 1986 space shuttle Challenger explosion, the program’s goal is preparing undergraduate students for graduate school through research and scholarly activities.  

Since receiving its first McNair grant 2003, SIU has provided opportunities to 200 students. Those students have gone on to earn 93 master’s degrees and 14 doctoral degrees. SIU’s program serves 29 students each year.

Meanwhile, several other area college students have been honored for academic success during the spring semester.

Those local honors include:

University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee

Johana Cabral of Minooka, Abby Bruyn of Morris, and Gracie Wargo of Morris were each named to the Dean's List at UWM.

The Dean's List recognizes full-time undergraduate students who have earned a 3.5 GPA or higher. UWM is the second largest university in the State of Wisconsin, with more than 25,000 undergraduate and graduate students.

University of Wisconsin - Oshkosh

To qualify for the honor roll on the UW Oshkosh campus, a student must take at least 12 credits and earn a GPA of at least 3.3 out of a possible 4.0.

Those with a GPA of 3.75 or better qualify for the Dean’s List.

Jack Malloy of Minooka was named to the honor roll. Abbey Gernenz of Mazon ans Kameron Dransfeldt of Morris were both named to the Dean's List.

Trinity Christian College

Kassidy Barr of Coal City, Valerie Guzman of Coal City, Grace Boeringa of Minooka, and Sarah Boeringa of Minooka were each named to the Dean's List at Trinity Christian in Palos Heights.

The Dean’s List is Trinity Christian College’s highest academic honor. Traditional undergraduate students who attend Trinity full-time and earned a 3.5 grade point average earn this honor.

Saint Mary's

Olivia Kostueck, daughter of Alex and Gail Kostueck of Minooka, received a bachelor of arts degree in May 2019 from Saint Mary's University of Minnesota in Winona. Kostueck was also named to the Dean's List.

Students who make the Dean's List earned a grade point average of 3.60 or better on a 4.0 scale.

Aurora University

The Dean's List at Aurora University recognizes students who have earned a 3.6 GPA or higher.

On the Dean's List in the spring were Kristyn Daigger of Coal City, Leigh Condon of Minooka, Christopher Knapp of Minooka, Marisa Martinez of Minooka, Haley McNamara of Minooka, Morgan Feitknecht of Morris, and Samantha Pierce of Morris.

Loading more